Schwab Cup returning to Desert Mountain in 2014 and 2016

The Champions Tour's season-ending event, the Charles Schwab Cup Championship, will be contested at Desert Mountain in 2014 and 2016.

The Cochise Course will host the tournament at Desert Mountain, which has six courses.

This year's Charles Schwab Cup Championship will be contested at Harding Park in San Francisco. Tom Lehman won the title last year on the Cochise Course, as he rolled to a 6-stroke win thanks in part to a third-round 62.

Desert Mountain had hosted The Tradition, which is one of five Champions Tour majors, for 13 years.

"I am thrilled that the Champions Tour and Charles Schwab Cup Championship are returning to Desert Mountain," said Lehman, who was the first player to win season-long Charles Schwab Cup two straight years. "For a number of reasons, it has always been a special place for me and I look forward to competing in 2014."

The Charles Schwab Cup Championship includes the top 30 players on the Champions Tour money list, and offers double points for the season-long race for the Charles Schwab Cup.