Monterrey rallies for 4 goals, beats Santos Laguna 4-2 for CONCACAF Champions League title

Monterrey won its third straight CONCACAF Champions League title Wednesday night, rallying from a two-goal deficit to beat Santos Laguna 4-2.

After a 0-0 road draw in the first leg, Monterrey fell behind 2-0 at home. But it scored four times in the final 30 minutes, with two goals by Aldo De Nigris, including the winner on a header off a long free kick by Alberto Suazo in the 86th minute.

De Nigris got Monterrey going with a left-footed 12-yard shot that made it 2-1 in the 60th minute. Neri Cardozo tied it off a poor clearance by Santos that set him up at the top of the area for a right-footed blast in the 83rd.

Suazo connected into an unguarded cage for the fourth goal in injury time, setting off loud celebrations in the stadium.

"When we were behind 2-0 against a great team like Santos, you can't imagine rallying like this," De Nigris said. "Now we are a team that has proven ourselves and made some history."

The last team to win the championships three straight times was Mexico's Cruz Azul from 1969-71.

Santos got goals from Carlos Darwin Quintero in the 38th minute and by Felipe Baloy 12 minutes later. But once Monterrey found the net, Santos couldn't stop the hosts.

"This is an extraordinary achievement that the boys have done," said manager Víctor Manuel Vucetich. "It's a credit to them and one of great satisfaction for this group that worked so hard."